Another violin lesson at last!

Well, it’s been months, but I finally found enough time to practise the violin 2 or 3 times.. enough to warrant a lesson. Or maybe it was the other way around.  I set a date for my next lesson so I had to practise!  It’s so much different when you’re paying for your own lessons!!

Anyways, I wasn’t sure what to work on for this lesson so I started the Bach G minor Adagio and Fuga since I hadn’t learnt those before.  Also looked at the Paganini Caprice No. 16 and I started note bashing the 3rd movement of Wieniawski Concerto No. 2.  I thought the Bach would be good since it’s solo, and would hopefully put a more discipline into my technique again.  I started the Paganini since Marg suggested it would be good to start working through these, and I thought I better finish off the Wieniawski rather than leaving the first 2 movements hanging there.

I actually was half thinking of playing it for the Freo Eisteddfod but I missed the deadline by a weekend! Argghhh.  Oh well, I don’t think I would’ve had time to learn it from memory.

So I played the Bach for Marg and it all went OK I guess – I’m still a bit rusty and with a few months since my last lesson and real practice I was losing it again.  It was a rushed 40 minute lesson but I did get enough to work on for next time, especially with preparing my pinky and my left hand for some of the nasty chords in the Fuga and focussing my bowing (it’s getting into an airy sort of mode at the moment) and not hacking those 3 and 4 string chords in the Fuga!

So plans from here are to refine the 1st movement, complete the 2nd and take a look at the 3rd and 4th movements.

Hmm.. I’ve been thinking about starting the Sibelius concerto now..  it’s another of my major milestones pieces for me (along with Chaconne, Saint-Saen’s Intro and Rondo…, Sarasate Carmen, Waxman Carmen, Franck Sonata and Brahms concerto).  I’ve done the Chaconne and Saint-Saens and I keep on wondering whether I’ll be ready yet, etc.  But then the other day I was thinking, why not just start it anyway.  I’m sure I’m emotionally ready (I hope!) – it’s whether my technique is up to it yet, but I won’t know until I try.  I have a feeling I’ll get stuck on fingered octaves again..  *sigh*

Leave a Reply

