Birthday!

Well another one gone by..  2 cool prezzies from my family – a new Bam violin case and tickets to the upcoming Gunners (Guns’n’Roses) concert!

My old violin case is literally falling apart, the zip doesn’t work, the latch works sometimes only, it’s got some burn marks on it when some ash from our old pot belly splashed on it, the storage zip area for music is all torn..  the new Bam one (I think the model I got is the “Stylus”) is great!  Lighter, sturdier.  Just a little tricky putting the Bon Musica shoulder rest in there with the violin, but I found an orientation that works.  The sheet music storage area seems quite flat and protected so my music won’t curl up at the corners.  And I can install the straps provided into a backpack configuration too!  Sweeet.    Su also picked up the sheet music for the Sibelius violin concerto that I had ordered from Zenith’s.  Had a quick play through the 1st movement last night – I think I’ll start working on it seriously, but I gotta work on my fingered octaves like crazy!

Also got tickets to Gunners! w00t!  You won’t believe it but Gunners helped me get through TEE.  It was my secret study weapon 🙂  I’d have Appetite or Use Your Illusions 1/2 on full blast on my walkman or discman (how daggy!).  Jeepers that was a while ago..  It’s a pity that it’s not what I consider the “real” Gunners.. Axl has just gone off and run with the name of the band – so it’s missing my favourite band members like Slash, Izzy, Duff, Matt..  *sigh*  but it will stil be good to Axl live singing all the old stuff.

Leave a Reply

