My Saturday

The girls started stirring around 8.30..  light was filtering through the cheap Ikea venetian blinds into our bedroom, the whirrr of the ducted airconditioning in the background..   our 7 year old murmered something about watching the DVD we watched last night again..  I said “yeahh” and rolled back over to sleep.

Jump forward a couple of hours and the 9 year old is at jazz and tap.  I get a few hours to spend just with our 7 year old.

We drive to the local shops, park the car and skip to the shops, S giggling away.   S says “I love this daddy, I love going shopping with just you and me”.  My heart melts…   I wonder why we don’t do this more often.   I say, “Let’s go into DigiLife and take a photo on the computer” at which S lights up and says “YES!”.   We find an iMac that is not being used, start up PhotoBooth and try to decide which effect to use.  We both decide on “glow”, take our photo, then sneak out of the shop laughing 🙂

Skip across to get a Vegemite scroll to stop the tummy growls, then we pass by the Liquorice Gourmet Foods shop.  S can’t resist going in so we get some gummy bears to suck on.

Liquorice Gourmet Foods
Liquorice Gourmet Foods

We then quickly dip into the funky shop Little Posh to find some presents for a party later that day.  S helps choose some Charlie and Lola merchandise and a hair clip, but I did spot some really cool hip clothes that could be future presents for friends 🙂

Shopping at Little Posh
Shopping at Little Posh

We do a quick grocery run.  I notice that S is eating her vegemite scroll by tearing off a piece, scrunching it up in her hand into a ball, then popping it into her mouth.  Gross!   Soon it’s time to pick up T, head home for a quick lunch then to the party!

T and S get on the swings and relive some past challenge to try and touch the top of the shadecloth/sail with their feet by swinging as high as possible.   Eventually I figure out that the swing would literally have to be horizontal from the pivot point… hmm…  is this dangerous?  After a few big pushes, they get there..   I worry that they’re not a good influence on the other kids who are on average 4 years younger than them.

There was a really really good face painter there.  Even T, our resident artist notices and says “Dad, she’s really good!”.  The girls spend ages trying to decide which design to get from a photo album of examples.  The face painter lady warns me, “Don’t let the kids flip to the back pages…  There’s some work and designs there that aren’t suitable for them.. but that I may like.”  Hmm…

A cat!
A cat!
pider Butterfly...  A spifly?
Spider Butterfly... A spifly?

Towards the end of the party, the lady starts making balloon things.  I ask T, “Do you want one?” to which she replies “I want to make my own dog.”  I suddenly realised that my Dad must have taught her that.  She takes a flower from the lady, sneaks away and undoes it, and starts to make a dog.  But the balloon pops..  there wasn’t enough empty space at the end.   She says, “doesn’t matter.”

They also had a butterly pinata.  After it was broken, it was thrown aside, dejected.

Dead Butterfly
Dead Butterfly

We get home, and S bugs me about making some fresh juice.  We cut up the fruit together, and jam it into our old and under-used juicer.  It already looks and smells amazingly healthy..  we drink it and agree – it’s yummy!!!  (and healthy too!)

Making fruit juice
Making fruit juice

Eventually my sister’s family comes over, we whip together some pasta and chill out for the rest of the night, barracking for Cadel Evans in the Tour de France from the comfort of our sofa while sipping tea.

Pasta, meatballs, wine and great company
Pasta, meatballs, wine and great company

Nearing midnight, it’s time to call it a day.   I wonder what Wifey is doing right now.  Only 2 more sleeps until she’s back home..  I can’t wait…

2 thoughts on “My Saturday”

  1. Yeah they do! We should probably do more one on one trips as we tend to do everything with both girls together.

Leave a Reply

