The TV and movies that your kids watch

What TV and movies do you bring your kids up on?

When I was a little kid (primary school age), I remember my family TV diet involved a lot of family shows like The Cosby Show and Family Ties.  I also recall sneaking in a bit of Dr Who and The Goodies on ABC after school.  I can’t remember exactly what type of videos/movies we used to watch regularly, but I do remember watching Annie, Star Wars or Dark Crystal on VHS everytime I was sick at home!

But with our own kids (now 7 and 9), our family TV diet includes mostly performing art reality shows like So You Think You Can Dance and Australian Idol. As for movies, the kids have been raised mostly on musicals and dancing shows.  The collection is expansive now, but early ones included The Wizard of Oz, Burn The Floor, Mary Poppins and Centre Stage, and current ones that have a lot of “airplay” include Cats, Dreamgirls and Hairspray.  I’m sure Mamma Mia would get regular rotation if/when we get it on DVD.

I wonder whether this has any long term effect.  I’m sure watching a whole stack of performance reality shows would mould the brain and subconcious in a different way to watching a whole lot of comedy and family relationship shows.  Hmmm… I guess we won’t know until a decade or two.

One thought on “The TV and movies that your kids watch”

  1. Interesting thought.

    We got rid of our Foxtel and no free to air reception where we live. So it is DVDs for my girls (only 1 / day).

    They seem to live on a steady diet of Pixar and Barbie movies. I much prefer Barbie over Disney Princess because Barbie is more independent, does not end up marrying a guy at the end and has a greater self empowerment or somesuch wanky stuff. If my girls must watch Princess movies then it is Barbie Princess.

Leave a Reply

