How to share PC media to a PS3

One thing that’s great about the PS3 is that it is now DLNA compatible.  What this basically means is that the PS3 is able to play videos, music and display photos from computers or other devices that are DLNA compatible too.

For me, this means that I can store a whole stack of videos, music and photos on my PC, but be able to view them through the PS3 onto the big TV.   And if you have a wireless network at home, this can be all done without wires between the PC and the PS3/TV.

There are several ways of achieving this through DLNA, but I’ll explain how my home system is set up.

First you need a computer or device that stores the media.  For me, this is my home laptop.

But a laptop by itself doesn’t do much.  You need to install and run a program on your PC that will talk with the PS3.  For me, I’m using Windows Media Player 11.   Once you’ve installed it, run it.  It should look something like this:

Windows Media Player
Windows Media Player

Next you have to “allow” the PS3 to connect to Windows Media Player.  Make sure that the PS3 is on and it’s connected on the network successfully.   In Windows Media Player, select the Library -> Media Sharing option.    You’ll see a list of devices that are visible to your PC.   Unfortunately, I can’t seem to find a way for Windows Media Player to show you which one is the PS3.  I had to “find” out which one it is by trial and error.

Media Sharing dialog box
Media Sharing dialog box

Note that you can change the “name” of your PC that the PS3 sees by clicking the “Settings” button.

Media Sharing - Default Options dialog box
Media Sharing - Default Options dialog box

Once you have done this, it’s time to check that the PS3 can see the PC.  For me, the PS3 automatically discovers the PC, but if this is not working, on the PS3 you can choose the “Search for media servers” option.

PS3 Searching for Media Servers
PS3 Searching for Media Servers

Notice how my PC Windows Media Player is discovered as “Dell Laptop” as was configured above.   Then you can navigate to the media on it like any other PS3 menu.   I normally browse by folders as my that’s how I organise my video files.

PS3 browsing Folders
PS3 browsing Folders

Now that we know the PS3 can see the PC, it’s time to let Windows Media Player know about the files you have to share.    On the Library toolbar, select “Add To Library”.   Alternately, press F3, or click the File menu and choose “Add To Library”.  You’ll need to select the location where you media files are.

Add To Library dialog box
Add To Library dialog box

And then you’re done! Here’s an example of what the So You Think You Can Dance Canada folder looks like for browsing:

PS3 showing thumbnails of videos
PS3 showing thumbnails of videos

Sometimes I find I have to restart the Windows Media Player Network Sharing Service in Windows to get the connection or new media files to be added correctly, but it mostly works with no problems.   Once in a while, I also find video playback a bit choppy, but after checking CPU usage on the laptop, restarting the service and stopping any network hungry apps, it’s all OK.

But overall, it’s one way, and a way that works for me, to share videos from the PC (where they are stored) to the PS3 (where the big screen TV is located).

One thought on “How to share PC media to a PS3”

  1. cheers for the info ,
    Will have to try it to see if theres any difference

    Im currently using Tvversity with no problems at the moment plus its got all my podscast set up and internet tv stations on it .
    Plus i also can network it to my ipod touch and watch shows in Bed .

Leave a Reply

