YouTube Symphony Orchestra

I can’t believe I just found out about this yesterday.   It seems that Google/YouTube have started a project called the YouTube Symphony Orchestra.

You basically submit 2 videos – the first video has to be of yourself playing a piece composed by Tan Dun for this project.   This video will be mashed into a video of other entrants playing the piece and shown at the final concert at Carnegie Hall.   The second video is of yourself playing an “audition” piece.   This will go through several judging stages and finalists will win a trip to New York to perform it at Carnegie Hall!

For the violin, this second video has to be of yourself playing one of the following pieces:

  • Bach: Solo Sonata No. 1 in G Minor, Mvt. IV Presto
  • Paganini: Caprice No. 20 or 24
  • Brahms: Symphony No. 4 in E Minor: Mvt. I, 2 before #Q (bar 392) to End
  • Mozart: Symphony No. 39 in E-flat Major: Mvt. II, bar 1-27 (no repeats)
  • Schumann: Symphony No. 2 in C Major: Mvt. II Scherzo, bar 1 – 48 (no repeat)
  • Rimsky-Korsakov: Capriccio Espangnol (all solos)
  • Tchaikovsky: Suite No. 3 (solo)

You can download the music for your instrument from the official website, and there are YouTube videos of Tan Dun conducting the piece for you to follow.

I was skeptical at whether this will be a success when I first saw this last night, but I think I’ll have a go!  Looking at the site here, http://www.youtube.com/symphony, it seems that there aren’t many violin entries yet.   I wonder if people are waiting for the last minute to upload them or something.    I wonder what type of people would enter this.  Many professional orchestral or soloist violinists might not enter as their reputation is on the line, so it may be lots of students, or casual musos like myself?

In any case, I scanned through the “set” works for violin and unfortunately I haven’t played any of them yet!  Since the deadline is only 17 days away, this means I have to learn one of those pieces in 17 days!!

Today I had a read through of the Tan Dun piece and that’s OK.   But it will be challenge to learn one of the solo violin pieces in 2 weeks.   I read through the Presto and there’s like 4 pages of solid semiquavers – too hard.  I think I might try to learn one of the Paganini Caprices.  Hmm..   I’ll see how I go!

2 thoughts on “YouTube Symphony Orchestra”

Leave a Reply

