Jazz on vinyl

A few weeks ago I went over to my parents in law to fix their computer up. 

While I was waiting for Spybot Search and Destroy to scan, I was looking around the computer room and noticed a pile of records sitting behind me.  I had a casual flick through them and came across this one:

Reader's Digest All Star Jazz Festival
Reader's Digest All Star Jazz Festival

I was excited!  All Stars!  Swing music!  Vinyl!

8 records of analog jazz!
8 records of analog jazz!

I had a peek at the track listing and it seems to be a compilation, but a pretty good one, even with the Metronome All Stars on there too.  So I borrowed it, gave it to my Dad to copy from record onto CD and now I’m in the process of splitting the WAV files up into tracks, removing hiss and clicks and normalising the volume.

I’ve now gone through both my parents’ record collections and found a few more gems.   It’s a pleasant surprise that we all share some similar musical tastes!

Can’t wait to listen to all the tracks properly and add them to my future DJ sets!

Leave a Reply

