Playing with Photoshop

Looking back at my photography lately, although I haven’t taken very much, I’ve realised that lately I’ve just been taking photos, but not really producing any great quality “images”.

So I finally had a few hours to play around with Photoshop on the weekend.

First I worked through Sandmania’s HDR tutorial and managed to come up with an image quite similar to the author.  I was inspired!   I have to keep on practising using these techniques on my own images.

My attempt at a HDR tutorial
My attempt at a HDR tutorial

I couldn’t seem to get as much grey and detail in the wood of the pews, but I’ll experiment a bit more.

My attempt at a HDR tutorial
My attempt at a HDR tutorial

I also made a panorama from an average set of photos taken on my iPhone (2 megapixel only, hand held, no zoom or exposure settings!!).

pre-panorama
Original hand held 2 megapixel iPhone shots
Alicia Keys Concert Panorama
Alicia Keys Concert Panorama

And finished off the night with some reading on Lab Color.

Here are some articles I worked through:

Photoshop Lab Color walk through on a NYC photo – http://blogs.tech-recipes.com/qmchenry/2008/02/16/photoshop-lab-color-enhancements-nyc-from-above/

Turn Ho-Hum Color into WOW with Photoshop – http://digital-photography-school.com/turn-ho-hum-color-into-wow-with-photoshop

Margulis LAB Color Book Reading Group – http://www.dgrin.com/showthread.php?t=18203

2 thoughts on “Playing with Photoshop”

Leave a Reply

