Buffer Overflow on Sony Handycam!

On the weekend, I was assigned to video’ing duties at a friend’s wedding.  No problems – I’ve got a Sony HDR-SR7 High Definition handycam.   I have the amateur gear to capture the pixels.

So, the ceremony happened, signing, photos, speeches and LOTS of food!

With typical Chinese weddings, there was a table by table Yum Seng which was really fun.  I love seeing the expressions on family and friends, who are normally or seemingly conservative, but at the Yum Seng, shout their hearts out.   It came to our table’s Yum Seng.   We were determined to be the loudest – and then…   a Blue Screen of Death on the handycam appeared with the words “Buffer Overflow”…  AAARRGHGHHH!!!   Had I just lost the entire Yum Seng footage?   No wayyyyyy!!

Next, “Recovering Data”, and then “Data Lost”.  NOOOO!!!    I quickly restarted the handycam, pressed the Record button again to keep going.    We all ended up doing a entire combined Yum Seng.   This was awesome – EVERY table on their feet, yelling Yum Seng at the top of their voices.   And then it happened again, “Buffer Overflow”.  I couldn’t believe my eyes.    If I had the time, I would’ve taken a photo and tweeted, but no…   had to get the handycam back recording again.

It left a bad sick feeling in my stomach for the rest of the evening.  I couldn’t wait to get home and analyse the videos on the camera to see if I really had lost the footage.

Got home, started the Handycam Utility, downloaded all the video.

And the Yum Seng footage was there!   *sigh of relief* except for the parts when I got the Blue Screen of Death.   But that was only 2 small parts.   I was soooo relieved.   I’d never had a problem with recording before and have recorded hours and long stretches at once.

A quick Google search shows that it’s probably related to the volume of sound.   Which lines up to my experiences.  Our own table’s Yum Seng when I was shouting away, and also the full room Yum Seng.

I haven’t tried yet, but you can probably reproduce it by shouting/screaming into the handycam.   So, tip for the day – watch out if you’re recording really loud sounds.   But don’t worry – you won’t lose any previous footage you’ve video’d.

Buffer Overflow Error – http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/archive/index.php/t-888712.html

Another Report of Buffer Overflow on loud sounds – http://www.volnation.com/store/index.php?Operation=CustomerReviews&ItemId=B000PQJGFO&ReviewPage=4

11 thoughts on “Buffer Overflow on Sony Handycam!”

  1. how can i fix my cam???
    wat do i nid 2 do???
    this “buffer overflow” is realy pissing me off..
    plz do help me…
    hmmmm..
    actually my cam fell…
    after dat “buffer overflow” appeared…
    now i cant record anymore..
    even if there is no vibrations still i cant record..
    plz help me solve my problem…
    plz email me your solution 4 my problem…
    email add: jared_never@yahoo.com

  2. @Jared oh no.. I’m sorry but I can’t help you. It doesn’t sound like the same “Buffer Overflow” problem that I had. The one I got appeared after I started recording, and only when the sound levels got very high. Maybe the microphone is faulty now, or there’s some other major problem. Best to get a Sony repairman to have a look.

  3. Same thing happened to me a couple of days ago in a U2 concert, 10 feet from the stage – I figured it was probably the recording volume. Your post was the first catch Google turned up, and it’s good to know it’s the sound level and not a more serious flaw in an otherwise flawless Handycam. Thanks for sharing!

    (now I’m thinking of workarounds… Possibly a muffler of some sort:)

  4. Yes i recorded my mates band no problems till i got close to the stage and i got same problem buffering overflow, moved back further and no probs

    1. @Wayne I wonder if Sony will release a fix, and if so, how we will get it onto our video cameras! At least now we seem to know what the problem is, so we can workaround it.

  5. pheeew…
    I lended my camera to a friend (he’s filming whit it while I write this :p). He’s filming a concert for a Romanian band..i got a call from him telling me that that “Buffer Overflow” keeps appearing on the screen,every 10-15mins.. (couldn’t really hear him because he was standing exactly in front of the big speakers), but the camera works normally after he switches it on again…we both thought he broke the camera…because i had it for about 1 year and i never had a problem whit it.
    Your post is a huge relief! 😛
    * same friend just spilled beer on my brand new MacBook Pro, 2 in one month it would of been to much :))

  6. buffer overflow is pissing me off….. now i can’t get the camera to stay on long enough to down load the videos, even when it is plugged it to AC….. the buttons don’t work, and it is totally locked up! Even after reseting, the problems persist.

  7. Went to a national park and while filming wild life footage the cam keeps shutting down with buffer overflow…..then it restarts and i can record again……ahhhhhhh its so frustrating, i lost so much amazing footage in the wild because of this! Sony better answer for this!

Leave a Reply

