Presenting Miss 10!

Miss 10!
Miss 10!
Our eldest princess has turned 10!  Miss 10!

I can’t believe how fast it’s gone.  Too fast, so fast that I struggle to remember details of your early years.  I try to replay your baby and toddler years in my head and only get highlights, or moments that center around photos or videos that we’ve taken.

I’m so proud of how mature you’ve become in 10 years.  Responsibility, self control, caring for your sister, saving Birthday and pocket money, not wanting everything, service and love of God and the love of your family, your honour, respect and fun with friends, keeping your room tidy (maybe too much!), knowing when to give things up to make more time for yourself.

I’m so amazed at what you’ve learnt in 10 years too.  From being a newborn that is totally helpless, you’ve learnt to feed yourself, clean yourself, dress yourself, walk, talk, dance, learn abstract concepts like maths (although you still struggle with long division and your times tables), operate Windows XP, Tivo and PS3, sing in different languages, play the Cello up to AMEB Grade 2-3 standard, center focus and recompose, learnt to play some easy piano by yourself.

You still amaze me with your familiarity with musical theatre and music songs.  Just the other day you were reprising songs (and some choreography) from nearly every major musical, Les Mis, Cats, Singing in the Rain, Fosse, Wicked, Hairspray, Flower Drum Song, Poppins, Sound of Music, My Fair Lady, Oliver, West Side Story, and the list goes on.  You can often re-sing a song you’ve heard only once.  And you’re just 10.

I love the huge hugs you give me and when you whisper, “I love you Daddy!” in my ear. I keep on saying to you that I wish you could turn 4 again, but 10 is really nice too 🙂  And you still occasionally sleep in our bed!  Even though, 5 years ago I was predicting (and lamenting) that you wouldn’t by the time you were 10.

Looking forward, the next 10 years will bring so much change and life events again.  By the time you’re 20, you will be thinking philosophically and religiously independently, you’ll have your driver’s license, you might have found a way around NetNanny on your netbook, finished High School and may be at Uni, you would’ve been into pubs and clubs by yourself, you will have many crushes and experience the emotions of relationships and love, rejection, self identity, peer group pressure, you may be tempted by drugs, alcohol and smoking, you may have a boyfriend or two that you will invite over to our house.  You will dislike and maybe hate me many times, be grounded many times, and you may even have moved out of home or tried to run away, or sneak out.

Ironically, at some stage, you probably will tell me to stop blogging about your growing up.

But lets stop thinking about that, and enjoy and cherish what we have now.

Hope you had a beautiful Birthday Miss 10!

Leave a Reply

