Photos at The Ellington

Jamie Oehlers

Jamie Oehlers

Victoria Newton

Victoria Newton

Victoria Newton 

 A few months ago, we went to see Victoria Newton at The Ellington, Perth’s new Jazz club.   It was yet another great night there! 

I decided to bring along my camera as I love taking concert photography, even though it means having withdrawing myself from just relaxing and enjoying the music for a while.

I snapped a few shots with my D80 and 17-55 f2.8, but boy was it dark in there.  Darker than I expected!  I had to bump ISO up to 1600 and beyond, which unfortunately is really grainy on the D80.  I managed to use ISO 1600 and take some usable shots during “still” moments, but I wish I had brought my 50 f1.8 or could afford a D700 with much better low light performance.

These photos have been sitting around on my hard drive for a while, so I took some spare, but frustrating, hours last night to do them up.  Frustrating, because my only computer at home to do photo editing is an old Dell laptop with a Pentium M 1.7GHz CPU and only 1GB RAM!   Photoshop was swapping to disk like anything!  Need to upgrade my computer.

I also realised last night that I really need to make up a signature brush that I can use on my photos.  Should I just go with scanning in my signature?

6 thoughts on “Photos at The Ellington”

  1. Hey Jas!

    Here’s a ablast from the past for ya.

    I just stumbled on this site after being lured to friendsunited through some dogey add campaign…who would have thought.

    I hope life is treating you well, which it must be with three lovely girls in your life, great music as always, and fun site.

    We should catch up one day for a real blast from the past.

    Take it easy,
    Mat from Swannie
    …still musically illiterate 😉

  2. Hey great of you to catch the beautiful Ellington vibe! Even though I couldn’t make that gig with Jamie and Victoria I can almost hear it by looking at your pics. 🙂

  3. Mat – hope to catch up soon!

    Alex – thanks! Yep, it’s got a great vibe and musos. I’m still trying to find a free evening on our home calendar to get there again.

  4. haha the old swannie crew. I also stumbled across your blog when I was checking out the latest gigs at Ellington. I’m catching up with Xahls this week as we have a ‘play date’. Yeh we should organise a proper catchup sometime.

Leave a Reply

