Memories of Michael Jackson

Michael Jackson on the Hollywood Walk
Michael Jackson on the Hollywood Walk

On the way to dropping the kids off to school this morning, I had the radio on and couldn’t believe my ears when I heard that Michael Jackson had passed away.  What?!? THE Michael Jackson?

I’m sure some of us have stories involving Michael’s music in some way or another.  Sure people now think he is a weirdo and maybe a child molester, but in the 80s, he was DA BOMB!

For me, his song, “Beat It”, is one of my very first pop song memories from when I was 8.  I remember our family was on holiday in Hong Kong in 1983.  Our hotel had some sort of tinny daggy piped music system and the song that had most rotation was “Beat It”.  It became the “theme song” for that family holiday!

A few years later, I remember the huge launch of “Bad”.  Our family gathered around the TV, watching some long special where they talked about the song, and then played the full length video clip (probably multiple times).  I was an instant fan!!!   My father then bought us the 12-inch LP single of “Bad” – our very first “pop” record (I think INXS Kick was the first album I bought with my own pocket money).

I used to listen to “Bad” over.. and over.. and over.  The 12 inch was great because it had all sorts of other mixes on there, including an acapella version, and a track with no vocals either.   I was mesmorised by the little electronic click that swished from left to right and back again in stereo.

Then one year, he came to Perth.  We HAD to go.  It was over the top – MJ coming out of a rocket in a spacesuit.  But thinking back, I remember was that his concert was a bit of a letdown because even though we were seated on the floor right in front of the stage, security made sure no-one stood up at all.  It was a pop concert of major dance tracks… with no dancing allowed.  No fault of MJ – just stupid concert promoters.   But I remember thinking, “OMG!  Is that really MJ?  Is he here performing in Perth?  Wow!”

A few weeks ago, Rage had one of their video theme specials where the theme was like cool dance choreography clips.  “Bad” came on and I was so excited!

I yelled to the kids, “Hey kids! You gotta see this!  It’s Michael Jackson and there’s really cool dancing in this clip.”

They watched for a seconds over their cereal.  And then tuned out.

I watched the clip again… it was a bit 80s.  The clip IS a bit dated.  The dancing isn’t as fantastic as some other more modern ones.

Oh well, I continued to watch and tried to remember why I wanted to be a dancing gangster when I was 12.

May he rest in peace…  his immense collection of hit tunes will definitely live on for centuries..

More here:

http://www.reuters.com/article/topNews/idUSTRE55O6AK20090626

http://moviesblog.mtv.com/2009/06/25/michael-jackson-twilight-cast-members-and-other-reactions-in-a-twitter-wood-special-edition/

http://www.guardian.co.uk/music/2009/jun/26/michael-jackson-death-los-angeles

5 thoughts on “Memories of Michael Jackson”

  1. @Trev – Yeah, I tried to, but the scary bits got in the way! I love the routine in Smooth Criminal too.

    I’ll have to dig out his concert videos/DVDs to watch with the kids over the school holidays.

  2. I regret the loss of the King of Pop Michael Jackson! Jacko is a legend. I hope he gets where he is now, finally in peace.
    Leave also your last greeting at Michael Jackson on our site, thanks.
    a big and now sad fan

  3. Hope he is in a better place now…I will never forget him…how much he ment for my childhood….He was the greatest artist of all times…The Michael Jackson!!!!!….We should pray for him and his soul…He was a kind man….I will always love you Jacko….Take care out there….
    p.s …please watch on us from time to time….Even if we maybe thought bad about you,when you were still here,we all loved you so much….
    R.I.P

Leave a Reply

