Miss 10’s first public cello performance

There’s some sort of weird parent bias bubble that gets created when you watch your child perform.  The joy and pride mixed together with nerves is a strange cocktail of emotions.   But that’s what I felt when Miss 10 played Bach’s Minuet 3 this week.

Driving to the venue, I was thinking that I was more nervous than her.  But when I sat next to her and held her hand, no – her hand was already clammy.  I whispered to her, “Squeeze my hand as hard as you can!” which she did, and grinned at me.  I think some of the nerves disappeared.

And then it was her time – we quickly checked her string tuning, she walked to the little stage, announced her name and piece, and then played with a great tone and intonation.  No wobbly nerves or shaking.  She remembered her extensions and shifts into 2nd position.   A small slip up at the second repeat but she recovered fine.  

And then it was all over.

I was proud of her – for getting up and playing very well, but more for just having a go even though it was a new experience and she was nervous.

Now she can concentrate on working towards her AMEB Grade 3 exam!

Leave a Reply

