Girls growing up

And so our little Miss 10 continues to be less a little girl.

It might be a taboo subject, but totally appropriate for my blog and a male living in a house with 3 females.  A few weeks ago, Miss 10 and Wifey had to attend a mother-daughter talk at the school on menstruation.  Uh huh..  the next step of growing up.

A female only night hosted by a local health nurse, all I heard was of how some mothers were giggling away and kids being embarrassed – probably not so much of the subject matter, but because their mothers were there!

I wondered – should I talk to Miss 10 about it at all?  I mean, would that freak her out?  What would I know?  I decided to leave it to girl territory and telling myself to be patient when the time came.

But I’m bracing for the coming years when the worst case scenario could be 3 weeks out of every 4 being trouble.   I think I need to start planning some sort of “man den” to escape to.

Men – there are some rumours that menstrual cycles might sync up for females who live/work together (eg. http://www.straightdope.com/columns/read/532/do-the-menstrual-cycles-of-women-living-together-tend-to-synchronizeand http://malaysia.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080427195553AAg20xH) but then I’ve found some other articles that say otherwise (http://healthlibrary.epnet.com/GetContent.aspx?token=0d429707-b7e1-4147-9947-abca6797a602&chunkiid=156991).

I guess I’ll have to wait and see…

2 thoughts on “Girls growing up”

  1. The rumours are true! Living in a family with three daughters, it’s quite common for our cycles all the sync, and I’ve had close girlfriends this has happened with too. Crazy moon stuff, I guess.

Leave a Reply

