James Flynn at the Ellington

James Flynn at the Ellington

After a delicious and indulgent date night dinner with Wifey on Friday, we decided to pop into the Ellington. If you’re into Frank Sinatra, Bobby Darin, Michael Buble or like Paul Anka’s Rock Swings album, you should catch James Flynn, Perth’s very own one man Rat Pack!  He was backed by a “mini” big band made up of many experienced professionals. 

Although it’s not quite my thing anymore (lindyhopping has focussed my jazz tastes on late 1920-1940s jazz), the crowd there on Friday really appreciated the swinging hits, even with some dancing breaking out!  I like how relaxed James is on stage and how he interacted with the audience making an entertaining night. 

James Flynn at the Ellington

I couldn’t resist snapping a few shots at the gig. As usual, the dim lighting at the Ellington really tests the performance of my Nikon D80 at ISO 1600. The shots look OK at this resolution, but if I were to blow them up large, I don’t think they’ll look that great. I tried a few shots at ISO 1250 too, but I really need to upgrade to a newer body with better low noise performance. New D3, D700, D700x?

More details: http://www.jamesflynn.com.au/

Leave a Reply

