Nina Ferro at the Ellington

A month or so ago, I saw that Nina Ferro was on the calendar to perform at the Ellington.  I was so excited I bought tickets straight away – she’s an Australian female jazz singer that I had heard on the radio a very long time ago and bought two of her CDs.   She’s not so Aussie now as she’s been living and working in the UK for the past few years.

So, last night, after a busy day running around, We settled into a table at the Ellington, ordered some finger food, had a glass of wine and had an extremely enjoyable night.  Nina is extremely talented and sang a range of jazz to more soul/R&B tunes last night, including many originals or reworkings of other songs that just worked really well.   I love her rich velvety tone and her relaxed timing and phrasing – she sounds as good live as on her recordings.  She did cut loose on some scatting for a couple of songs – I wish she did that even more as I love the bebop scatting sound and she’s obviously got the talent for it!

Got to meet her during the break, buy her latest CD, and let her know that we did use some of her CDs as background quiet time music for our kids 🙂

One thing I couldn’t believe though was that the Ellington was not packed at all.  Why not?  This was an ideal gig for the small cozy venue!  

I have to say, major props to Ben Vanderwal on drums.  This guy is amazingly talented and plays so tight, right on the beat.  I spent a while last night just enjoying all his variations and ease at which he plays.  Good stuff 🙂

If you missed last night, you can buy her CDs here – http://www.ninaferro.com/

Sorry no photos – last night I decided to just relax and take in the music rather than burden myself with the camera!

By the way, tonight – Phil Emmanuel playing bluesy guitar!

Leave a Reply

