First AMEB cello exam

It’s all happening for our Miss 10.  A couple of weekends ago she had her first WAYMA audition.  Today is her first AMEB cello exam.

It’s really quite hard!  She’s struggled to get her head around the different scales, harmonic and melodic minors as well as get all the exercises and pieces up to exam standard.   Her hands and fingers are still relatively tiny so shifting and extensions are even harder on the cello.   And there’s so much exam work that to get through that it takes over an hour to get through it in a practice session!

But the hardest thing I’ve noticed is trying to get her to not stop playing when she makes mistakes.  When she makes a mistake, Miss 10 will repeat the couple of notes again.  In an exam or performance situation, you just have to keep on going.  Sounds easy, but it’s something that has to be learnt and to get used to.

I know she can’t wait until it’s over so she can have a small break from cello.  Unfortunately, she’ll be diving straight into a school production performance, then her dance school concerts next weekend.

Wish her good luck!

5 thoughts on “First AMEB cello exam”

  1. Hello Jason, i am trying to create a small book on cellos for a school project. I was wondering if i may use this beautiful photograph that you have taken. The book is not going to be published or anything like that but i will make sure that credit is given. Please email me when you have a chance. Thank you very much!

    Kate Coladarci

  2. I have been looking around jasechong.wordpress.com and actually am impressed by the exceptional content material here. I work the nightshift at my job and it really gets boring. I’ve been coming here for the previous couple nights and reading. I just wanted to let you know that I have been enjoying what I’ve seen and I look ahead to reading more.

    1. Barbra – Thanks so much for visiting my blog and your kind comments! I’m glad that other people find what I write interesting and useful!

Leave a Reply

