The Guinea Pig Saga

I think it all started when we watched G-Force.  Not the amazing and my childhood favourite “Battle of the Planets” G Force, but the new imposter G-Force – Guinea Pigs meets Mission Impossible.

Nearly every sentence that Miss 8 has uttered since then has included the words “Guinea Pig”.

It’s getting unbearable…  “Guinea Pigs are cute!”, “Can I get a Guinea Pig?”, “Can you give me a Guinea Pig for my birthday?”, “If not, can I buy a Guinea Pig with my own money?”, “Why don’t you want me to get a Guinea Pig?”.

Yesterday, the impact of the 21st century and YouTube and the internet hit me in the face.

After cycling home in the heat, I opened the door and was greeted with, “Hi Dad! Can I get a Guinea Pig for my birthday?  They’re so cute.  I know how to give them a bath, I saw how to do it on YouTube!”.

And then later, “And there was this other Guinea Pig on YouTube that just went cheep! cheep! all the time!”

[Wifey and I make a mental note to restrict the amount of time Miss 8 browses YouTube videos.]

And then later with a cheeky grin, “I found some names for Guinea Pigs.  I saw one called Scuttle!”.

[Wifey and I make a mental note to restrict the amount of time Miss 8 browses the Internet in general.]

Do we need another thing to look after?  Will Django, our mini schnauzer eat it?   I might find out the answer in a couple of weeks time 😉

Leave a Reply

