My PS3 has died with YLOD

Oh dear…

My PS3 has suddenly died with what is known as the YLOD – Yellow Light of Death.  I wasn’t home, but apparently it was working in the morning, but when Wifey and the kids tried to watch a movie in the afternoon, it just wouldn’t turn on.   Pressing the on button at the front made the power light go to green momentarily, then go to orange, then flash red afterwards.

We’ve tried turning it on/off via the Power button at the back with no success either.   I also found heaps of posts online, but with no real definitive home fix.    It seems that the PS3 does a check of hardware when it starts up, and if anything is not quite right, it will shut down.   With no indication of what is wrong at all.    Couldn’t they implement some 4 LED system to report startup problems like on Dell computers?

I thought YLOD’s was something that happened to the “other” people, whoever “they” are, but my original PS3 60GB decided to join in the fun.  Being our DVD player, our Blu-Ray player, and media player (watching shows through the SD card slot and USB HDD) – we’re going to miss it for a while 😦

So I spent 2 hours last night trying to find the receipt.  Unfortunately, with moving house and getting rid of our filing cabinet, it was nowhere to be found.  And so I started phoning around today.  The good news is that I did purchase extended warranty from Harvey Norman for it, and it’s still under warranty until June this year! 

  • Rang Harvey Norman Warranty Claims, spoke to someone helpful and got my Invoice number, but they said they need the Product Code and Sony’s reference number
  • Rang the actual Harvey Norman store, spoke to someone who seemed in a really good mood, and they gave me the Product Code, Supplier Code, Batch Number and Serial Number
  • Rang Sony, punched my way through heaps of voice menus of some really enthusiastic Aussie gaming dude, spoke to someone and they said they needed the Extended Warranty Claim Number first
  • Rang Harvey Normal Warranty Claims again and using the Invoice Number, Product Code and Serial Number, they gave me the Extended Warranty Claim Number
  • They put me through back to Sony and they gave me a Booking Reference Number and will send out instructions for me to send my PS3 back to Sony

It’s almost like a computer adventure game from the 90s!  Luckily the hold times weren’t too long and everyone was quite helpful on the line.

Bad news is that it will take approximately 2-3 working weeks to fix (since it’s one of the first generation ones) and they will wipe my Hard Drive which contains all my save games.

And I haven’t backed any of them up.

And the game that’s in there at the moment will take possibly another 1 week to send back.

Oh well, better than having to fork out for a new PS3.  I’m glad to see the Extended Warranty actually being used for a change!

One thought on “My PS3 has died with YLOD”

Leave a Reply

