Looking for a new ADSL2 modem

A few days ago, our internet connection at home started getting unreliable.  I noticed it would drop out, but after a reboot it came back.

But then 2 days ago, it seriously just didn’t work.  I could sometimes get an ethernet connection, but even if I could, the configuration web pages were very slow and mostly hung.

What a strage few days it’s been without internet at home.  Unfortunately, as we’re in the middle of planning our next holiday and researching destinations and hotels, it’s come at an inconvenient time.

Oh well, the D-Link DSL-502T did serve me well for quite a few years I guess.

But now to buy a new one and I’m confused!   I already have a Linksys WRT54G for my wireless and a Sipura SPA-3000 for VOIP, so I really only need to buy an ADSL2 modem.  But there’s so many combo models to choose from nowadays – with functionality I don’t currently have like 802.11N support, guest Wifi and USB storage support.  And then there’s iiNet’s BOB.

I’m currently tossing up between iiNet’s BOB on a contract (so it’s not sooo expensive, but so I can get replace 3 boxes with 1), the Billion 5200N (don’t think I need the WAN port of the 7300N) and Netgear DG834G or N.  

Choices, choices, choices… 

But I better decide soon, I’m getting internet withdrawal at home!

2 thoughts on “Looking for a new ADSL2 modem”

  1. I was in a similar situation – with a Sipura SPA for VoIP, multiple WRT54GS for wifi, so I got a Billion 7402L.

    It doesn’t have VoIP, wifi, or any other features that I didn’t need.

    It’s been very reliable, and I’ve been very happy with it.

    The 7400 series of the Billions is apparently better than the 7300 series in terms of sync speed and throughput.

Leave a Reply

