Losing weight is hard work

One goal that is coming along nicely this year is losing weight!   After over indulging at Christmas, I’ve got into cycling and watching my calories.   At first, the 10km commute to work was about as far as I could go, but last weekend, I cycled 37kms on my “heavy” mountain bike to Mt Henry and back.  I think the goal of entering the HBF Freeway Bike Hike is looking more achievable!

On the food side of things, the problem with watching what I eat is that I now realise how much crap I used to eat!!!  A bucket of hot chips, a bag of potato chips and a can of Coke a day at work in addition to lunch.  Then when I got home, I used to stand in front of the pantry and veg out.  Hmm… all not good.

It’s just so hard to stick to eating the “good” stuff.  Fruit, drinking water, smaller portions, not eating until I have to loosen my belt.  *sigh*

The worst part is the craving for foods which just taste SO GOOD!   ARGHHH!!  Why do they make bad food taste so good!  It’s evil evil evil.

On a good note, I have lost weight since Christmas! Yay! Jeans that were tight before are looser now!  So far, I’ve been tracking weight/BMI on Wii Fit and tracking exercise and calories at Live Strong.  Having a graph of how you’re going definitely helps.

But I think I’ll have to exercise more this weekend.  I anticipate it will be hard to resist all the food at our Chinese New Year Eve and Chinese New Year Day dinners!

Leave a Reply

