5 days until HBF Freeway Bike Hike

OK…  it’s nearly here.

On the weekend, I went riding again with my friends and they pulled me on a 60km ride up to Kalamunda!

I really was NOT looking forward to this.  It was just some voice in the back of my head yelling, “It’s too far!  The hill is too steep!  You’ll die!”…  or more like, you’ll fall off your bike and puke!

I just had a mental block that I would not be able to make it to the top.

Well, we were cycling along past Guildford and along Helena Valley Road.  No problems yet.  My friend tells me that it’s coming soon.  My stomach starts to turn with nervousness. 

We turned right at the roundabout into Ridge Hill Road and suddenly it’s on.  The slope just starts, the fitter guys are pulling away ahead, I feel my legs struggling and I wonder why I didn’t just stay at home in bed with Wifey.

I see the slope ahead flatten out a bit and I push myself to reach that part…  yes did it! 

But then my friend points out people further up the hill and I think to myself, “WTF!?!?  Are we going up there?”.

We turn left onto the Zig Zag Scenic Drive and surprisingly, even though we’re still ascending, it’s not hurting as much.  I’m assured that the cafe is very close.

Well, it WASN’T!  

We just keep on going up and up.  I’m really starting to hurt now.  But I’m thinking, “I can’t turn back now!”.

And then we’re suddenly on tarmac again, my friend still insists the cafe is close, but he’s been saying that for the last 5kms!  I don’t trust him anymore but put my body into overdrive.

And then it’s there!  The French cafe, Le Paris Brest, where we scoff down delicious fruit tarts and coffee.

The great reward is the ride down with amazing views and speed that I’ve never felt before on a bike.  Then we’re in single file riding back towards Guildford pushing 35-40kms/h and I finally experience the thrill of a road bike peloton.

60kms later, I’m still buzzing (probably from the energy drink that I normally don’t have) and thinking I can do more…

All good for the HBF ride this Sunday.  At least I now know I can do the distance. Although we won’t be stopping for coffee and cakes half way, at least there isn’t a massive hill to climb up!

Leave a Reply

