I lost 6 kgs in 2 months!

Gosh I sound like some late night advert or web ad.

But yes, it’s true..   I did lose 6 kilograms in 2 months.   Not that fantastic I guess, but good enough for me – someone who has never been on a diet or exercised before.

So how did I do it?

Food

No, no special diet – I just counted calories.

In practice, it meant eating more fruit, drinking more water, not eating until I’m stuffed.  I drank water before meals so I would eat less and if I had to munch on something, it would be something healthy and fibrous.

So I had to say good-bye to cans of Coke, hot chips and potato chips (except for a weekend treat!)

Exercise

It all started with Wii Fit.   Yes, it started weighing me and making me down endless hula hoops, boxing a robot and jack knifes.  But after a while, I found that I wasn’t burning enough calories from Wii Fit.   Maybe I need to get some weights for it.

If you’ve been following my blog, you would know that I then took up cycling, which is great, low impact and socially fun too!   It’s amazing what 1-2 hours of exercise can do.

I ended up trying to cycle to work at least once a week too, and I also have been parking further away from my office which forces me to walk 20 minutes a day.

Tracking Calories and Exercise

I think this part is key and kept me going.   You may think it’s fine to just eat a bit less, do a bit of exercise, but it’s not until you track how many calories you actually eat and how many calories you actually burn that you start to make progress.

The awareness of how many calories are in certain foods brings a whole new dimension to eating – it becomes “Whoa! I have to exercise XXX minutes to work off this meal.”

To tell you the truth, I didn’t track it to an extreme accuracy.  I think a ball park figure is good enough to get a hang of how you’re going.

When I decided to track calories, I looked at a few ways of doing it.   What I ended up using was LIVESTRONG.COM – a health and wellbeing site promoted by Lance Armstrong.   It’s awesome – there’s stacks of foods already in their database, and also estimates for calories burnt from exercise.

I love how easy it is to enter information in.  It remembers what you’ve eaten previously which makes it easier to choose the same food again.

Meal calorie tracking on LiveStrong.com

And being the 21st century, there’s an iPhone application for it too, which allowed me to enter what I ate straight after a meal!   My only gripe with the iPhone app is that the weight tracking is in lbs instead of kgs.  Why isn’t there an option to change this?

Food tracking on the LiveStrong.com iPhone app
Exercise tracking on the LiveStrong.com iPhone app

One of the good things about the whole LiveStrong.com experience is the history and trends.   You can see how you’ve gone for the week and make adjustments..  or even splurge out at the end of the week if you’ve done well keeping to the calorie budget.

The calorie tracking page has little graphs like this:

Calorie tracking on LiveStrong

Or you can run some reports to give more detailed info like this:

Calorie reports on LiveStrong.com

I definitely recommend trying it out if you’re keen to keep fit.

Now that I’ve closer to my ideal BMI weight, I’ve actually stopped tracking food and exercise on there.   I still weigh myself each day and I seem to have stabilised my weight which is good.

Now time to bulk up some muscle 🙂

3 thoughts on “I lost 6 kgs in 2 months!”

  1. hi i weigh 71.2kg but i am really tall i am also 14 yrs i want to loose wieght but dont know where to start i wanted to give my self a 2 month target of 6 kg which would be a start like you please reply with advice. THANKS

    1. Hi Yasmin – the hardest thing for me was just committing and doing it, recording calories for every meal and amount you exercise. I tried recently to lose some more, but I decided not to record anything down. And it was so easy to give up since there was no “evidence” that I had even started! Hope this helps – good luck!

  2. Hi,im rita from Gambia, im 20 years old,1.65cm,64.4kg.i think this is bad.I am from a middle working class family,meaning not too poor not rich.i willing to lose 6-7kg within two months,i dont have much money to buy enough fruits.pls help me out,wat can i do? friend.thanks in advance

Leave a Reply

