iPhone Settings

Just a quick blog post documenting some solutions to problems I’ve had since installing iOS4 on my iPhone.   More for my own records in case I need to do this again.

But hopefully these tips might help others out there too!

iiNet IMAP

When reconfiguring my iPhone to get emails from iiNet’s IMAP server, it seemed that the iPhone kept on detecting the iiNet mail server as POP and not IMAP.   This frustrated me on no end – I’m SURE I had the email address correct but I just couldn’t find a place to convert the iiNet server from POP to IMAP. 

After some Googling, I found a workaround.    Here’s a trick to get around this:
http://forums.whirlpool.net.au/forum-replies-archive.cfm/1454945.html

Google Mail not logging in

For some reason, even though I entered the correct username and password to access my GMail account, it was not logging in successfully. I was getting the error “The user name/password for IMAP is incorrect”.  However, when I tried the same user name and password on the web interface, it worked?!?!    Seems that Google was not letting my iPhone in.   Here’s what to do to allow the iPhone to successfully log in.

http://www.madebymark.com/madebymark/2008/09/iphone-imap-and.html
https://www.google.com/accounts/DisplayUnlockCaptcha

iPhone Calendar only showing one calendar

This used to work on my iPhone before upgrading to iOS4.   I had a whole handful of calendars (my work one, my family one, Birthdays, etc) all being sent to my iPhone from my Google calendar.   After upgrading and reconfiguring GMail again, I only got my primary calendar only being sent to the iPhone.   Seems like you have reconfigure the other calendars you want to sync:

http://www.google.com/support/forum/p/Google+Mobile/thread?tid=6863c4bc8b1419a7&hl=en
http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?hl=en&answer=151674

No Contact Sync’ing with GMail

After upgrading, I lost all my contacts.  Luckily, my contacts are stored on GMail so it’s just a matter of pulling them back down again from the “cloud”.

After configuring GMail, I still did not have any Contacts!!   I’ve come to realise there are TWO ways to sync GMail onto your iPhone and only the Exchange (Google Sync) method transfers Contacts at the moment.

The two ways to sync GMail onto your phone are:
1) Use Exchange method
2) Use GMail method

GMail method:
* Use Gmail profile
* Name: My name
* Address:  yourusername@gmail.com
* Password: Your gmail password
* Outgoing SMTP: smtp.gmail.com
* Syncs Mail, Calendars, Notes

But there is NO contact sync’ing!?!?  WTF?  

Exchange (Google Sync) method
http://www.google.com/support/mobile/bin/answer.py?answer=138740&topic=14252

If you configure your GMail account using the Exchange method (called Google Sync), then you WILL get Contact sync’ing, but no Notes sync’ing.     I guess if you want the best of both worlds, you can use both methods to get it all.

Leave a Reply

