When kids know more than you.. (and introduce you to We Rule)

An exciting change when your child passes the toddler ages and is in the Primary School age group, is that they start introducing you to new things.   Before then, the world as you knew it was as you knew it.   I imagined the information flow streaming from the parent to the child.  Even if they went to kindy or daycare, you knew what they were learning.

But once they hit Primary School and get older (like 9+ years), they explore other things, learn things that you never knew or can do.

Like seeing Miss 9 learn and play the saxophone.  I tried blowing through it and got a very unsatisfactory honk.  Or Miss 11 learning to read the tenor clef and thumb position on the cello.  I just look at the music notes and give up. 

I can safely say that my girls are now better than me at doing some things!   It’s a strange revelation as a parent when this happens – almost like your children have passed another stage of innocent childhood.    There’s nothing you can do but to encourage and support them grow.

Unfortunately, this has now also extended into iPhone/iPod Touch applications.

For a few weeks, I wandered why Miss 11 would rush to her iPod Touch at certain times of the day.  And then I saw a note next to her alarm clock “Carrots 7.30AM”.  What on earth was she up to?

I asked her a few times and she dodged the question like a politician.   But eventually she revealed to me that she was playing a game called “We Rule”, what I’ve now found out is a lot like Farmville on Facebook.

So a few weeks ago I decided to install it on my iPhone – of course primarily as a parental exercise to see if it’s suitable for her 😉

And lo and behold, I’m now ADDICTED to this time wasting game!!!  I’m not sure I can even call it a game, is there a winner?

But all I know is that I started pulling up my iPhone at certain intervals of the day, checking on my onions, pumpkins, magic cauliflower, building houses, buying shops, moving fences around, saving up for a stable, checking on my daughter’s kingdom and trying to out-do hers.   AAARRRGHHHHHH!!! What has she done to me!!!!??!?

An early snapshot of my We Rule kingdom

A week later I had overtaken her on the game…  I was so addicted to tending to my little kingdom that even my Wifey and Miss 9 got annoyed. 

Luckily I’ve recently toned down my tending, only once per day 😉 

Ahh, kids..   what will they introduce me to next?

Leave a Reply

