Arranging Bruno Mars’ Just The Way You Are for Violin and Cello

An old friend of ours is getting married this week and asked if we could provide music.   She specifically requested for a few modern pop tunes.

I’m always a bit apprehensive about playing pop repertoire with classical instruments.  Is it going to sound really corny and crap?  Will it still convey the same emotion without singing or lyrics?

A bit of Googling and I found U2’s Beautiful Day [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X5ZkVYXguhQ] as well as Bruno Mars’ Just The Way You Are [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MpqJjasrD7I] arranged and recorded by the Vitamin String Quartet.  Seems like this US based quartet has done a heap of pop and rock covers, and they don’t sound too bad either!

Unfortunately, our instrumentation for the wedding is going to be keyboard/piano, violin and cello.   Still, I used a combination of the  recording by the original artists together with listening to the Vitamin String Quartet arrangement to come up with my own arrangement – for piano trio!

I hope it will be OK for the wedding!

But the whole exercise on this Sunday morning has made me appreciate how much effort goes into arranging music.  Just these 2 pieces took nearly 4 hours – and that’s just for a pretty rough draft version.   I’d estimate I’d need another 4 hours to polish it up.   And then do an actual run through to see whether it sounds OK and is playable!

36 thoughts on “Arranging Bruno Mars’ Just The Way You Are for Violin and Cello”

  1. Hi, may i get the music sheet of the song of “just the way you are” that show in the picture above? I really need it, please.. Thanks

  2. HI,
    I would really love the sheet music for “just the way you are”
    If you have the cello version i would extremely grateful.
    Thank you

  3. Hi,
    I am a professional cellist(classically trained so I don’t have any pop experience) and my sister is getting married and her dream is to walk down the aisle to me playing “Just the Way You Are” by Bruno Mars. I see that you did this for a wedding as well, and I was wondering if you could somehow send me the sheet music. Anything you could send me would be extremely helpful! Thank you so much,
    Elizabeth Aron

  4. Hi,
    I’m getting married next weekend and we have been searching for the sheet music for Just The Way You Are for the string quartet. Would you be so kind as to send us your score? Our wedding day will be perfect if we can get the string quartet to play that song! Thank you in advance!
    Lambert

  5. Awesome! Any possibility I could get the sheet music for Bruno Mars also? Just watched the video and my fiance would love to have the string quartet play this for us! This seems to be a popular string quartet arrangement, as is Journey’s Don’t Stop Believing, which I have yet to find. Check out the video for it on youtube. Thanks!

  6. I’m getting married in a couple months and my future wife would love to use “Just the way you are” in the wedding. We will be using a string quartet. Do you have the sheet music for this? Any help would be apreciated. Thank you!

    Jeff

  7. Hello,
    I’m getting married next weekend . Can i pls get the sheet music for just the way you are ?Our wedding day will be perfect if we can get the string quartet to play that song! Thank you

  8. Is it possible that you can send the music sheets to my email, because I want to play it with my Orchestra at GHCHS.

    Thank you

  9. Hello,

    My daughter is getting married in June and she would like to have the string quartet that we have hired play the Bruno Mars “Just the Way You are”. I have been using a piano reduction to try and figure out the parts along with the You tube version done by the Silver Lake String Quartet, which is the one she likes. If I could buy your version from you and you could send it as a PDF, that would make my life much easier.

    Please let me know right away how much you would charge and how you would like to arrange payment.

    Thank you, Dianne England

  10. Hi there!
    I am getting married in September. I LOVE this song (Just the Way You Are) and would very much like to include it in my wedding ceremony. Is there any way I can purchase the sheet music from you?
    Thanks so much!

  11. hi, i listened this song by violin cover and i really like it. can you sen it violin sheet JUST THE WAY YOU ARE please. tnx

  12. Hey,
    Could you send me this sheet to my e-mail? I really want to play this in a concert next week.
    Thank you 🙂

  13. You seem to have a lot of requests for the Bruno Mars/U2 scores. I’m desperately interested in receiving them also. Why not post them to the site? Maybe make a little cash on the side for your trouble?

    Cheers

  14. Hello Jase,

    My name is Mark and I am the lead violinist from the Tchai quartet in Canberra. We currently have some clients who will have a wedding in October 2011 and they have requested for us to play “Just the way you are” by Bruno Mars. Our quartet currently do not have the resources to write our own arrangements. On behalf of my quartet, I was wondering if it is possible for us to acquire a copy of your arrangements? We can discuss the details via email…

    Mark

  15. Hi Jase,

    I am also getting married in October and would LOVE just the way you are played by string quartet. Therefore is there any chance you could send me the arrangement. You can contact me by email. I would be SO SO grateful.

    Thanks

    Suzanna 🙂

  16. Hi!
    I am another wedding musician interested in purchasing your arrangements of Mars/U2 AND Journey. Let me know it it is at all possible – thanks so much!

    Susan

  17. Is there any chance you can email me a pdf copy of the sheet music of your arrangement of Bruno Mars’ Just The Way You Are for Violin and Cello to my email address: ken.retzack@gmail.com

    I would really appreciate it.

  18. hi, may i wonder know you can send me the string quartet “just the way you are” sheet to me? My brother wedding in Oct, i wanna play this music to him for gift. Please.

    Many Thanks.
    Tiffany

  19. Hi – Same inquiry as everyone else above! I’m getting married next month and would love this for my violin/violin/cello (harp) group to play. Have you decided whether or not to share? Also happy to pay – Thanks!

  20. Hi I want to play this piece at my prom 🙂 do you think you could send me the sheet music? It would be greatly appreciated!! thanks!

  21. Hi there, I am getting married in March and I am desperate for the arrangements for ‘just the way you are’ and ‘beautiful day’, Could you email me? Much Appreciated!! Cheers Kate

  22. It sure seems like you have a lot of requests here, and I hate to be yet another person asking for the arrangement, but I got to be that guy. My fiance and I are getting married in May and she absolutely loves this song. She wants nothing more than for it to be played at our wedding. Is there anyway I could get you to email me a copy of this sheet music? I would really appreciated it. I hope you can find the time. Thank you so much.

  23. Hello. I would love to buy your arrangement of this song. It is for a wedding in June. Many Thanks, Cheers, Elizabeth
    p.s. tried to post this from my phone – so if this is a double-up, please delete.

  24. Hi! We are a young string quartet from New York. We are all high school students and have been playing together for 5 years. We were recently hired for a wedding, and the bride requested “Just the Way You Are.” Is there any chance you could send us a copy? We would be able to pay if necessary. We would truly appreciate anything you could do for us. Thanks in advance for your time! Our Email is emeraldstrings@rocketmail.com

  25. Hi! I’m getting married next year and I would LOVE to walk down the aisle to this song. I’ll be having a violinist and cellist for the ceremony– this is our one “song” but unfortunately the regular version is a little too fast for the first dance so I was hoping to incorporate into the ceremony. Thanks a MILLION!

Leave a Reply

