Wondering if I should enter the Freo Eisteddfod

Well, it’s come to that time of the year again – I’ve looked up the Fremantle Eisteddfod website and they have the 2011 schedule online!   The closing date is 18th March and the Eisteddfod will be held between the May 12-21.

For the past 2 years, I’ve dusted off my violin, and used the Freo Eisteddfod as a goal to work towards – to learn one of the great violin concertos.

In 2008 I learnt the Wieniawski 2nd, but didn’t compete.   In 2009 it was Sibelius.  In 2010 it was Tchaikovsky.  

Both experiences created MUCH stress in my life.  But it actually helped me keep up my violin.   You see, after the month of May in the past 2 years, I really haven’t picked up my violin at all (except for the YouTube Symphony thing).

So I’m wondering if I should do this again in 2011?   Learn another movement from a great concerto in 3 months? 

I really have left it quite late this time around.   I was hoping I could do the Brahms, Barber or Beethoven, but there’s really not enough time.   I guess I could learn the 3rd movement from the Sibelius or Tchaikovsky?    Or tackle something different like the Carmen Fantasy?    Or maybe play something with less notes to learn like a Mozart concerto.

Or shall I just leave my violin in its case this year…

2 thoughts on “Wondering if I should enter the Freo Eisteddfod”

  1. Go for it Jase! Your post has encouraged me to think about it. I think it might take me a little to get it up there, but I’d love to dedicate myself to a deadline like an Eisteddfod and learn a concerto again. I’m thinking something more modern such as Philip Glass, or Matt Hindson concertos, but maybe I might go with something more within my range such as Mozart 4, or maybe 3 – I think I could brush that up enough to be competitive.

    1. Ben – thanks for the encouragement! I think you’ve spurred me on to at least take my violin out and have a play through a few things this week to see what could be possible. I think I’m just dreading the nerves on the day itself. Getting older doesn’t seem to help me 😦

Leave a Reply

