Only with the Nikon AF-D 50mm f/1.8

Wow, what a few weeks it’s been.

I’ve sold my Nikon D80, crop mid range zoom and wide angle zoom to fund an upgrade to a D700.

I absolutely LOVE the low light performance and robustness of the new camera body.

BUT…

I’ve lost a lot lens and focal length range!

So, on a recent family getaway, all I had was my 50mm.  At first I thought it was going to be very restrictive and I would not be able to get the shots I wanted, but in the end I think it’s been a very liberating experience!

No more having to play with 2 variables of distance to subject as well as zoom for viewing angle.  No big heavy zoom to lug around.  And I found having no zoom has FORCED me to be more creative in my shooting and composition.  I was very happy with the results and don’t think I missed out on too many shots where I needed a different focal length.   It forced me to think more about the shot and pre-visualise it instead of just standing on the spot and twisting the zoom ring.   And now it’s really made me think twice about whether I should get the 24-70 f/2.8 at all.

The only complaint about the Nikon AF-D 50mm 1.8 is that the bokeh can sometimes produce circles with quite a hard circumference line in conditions with spots of light coming through (like light through the leaves of a tree).  Besides that, it’s extremely good value and every Nikon shooter should have a 50mm!

Here are a few of my favourites from our trip away…

4 thoughts on “Only with the Nikon AF-D 50mm f/1.8”

  1. Hi,

    I did exactly the same as you with an upgrade from D80 to D700 and the 50mm f1.8!

    I too loved the challenge of a fixed length and used it pretty much exclusively for a year.

    Great images!

    Tom

    1. Hi Tom – thanks for the visit and comment! Yep, I’m still stuck with 3 fixed length lenses (35mm, 50mm, 85mm). Though I have a wedding coming up next week – not sure if I can do it without a mid range zoom 😦

  2. Hi,

    I just came across your blog while looking around for advice on the 50mm 1.8 vs. the 35mm 1.8. Have you had experience shooting the 35mm yet? If so, do you prefer the tighter shot on a prime? I used to shoot a rangefinder with a 45mm prime, so I’m used to that focal length, but sometimes the shot was too cramped when I couldn’t move back.

    Thanks!
    Justin

    1. Hi Justin! Lately I’ve been using the 35mm more than the 50mm – only because I know I can capture more of the environment in, yet still get in close and take a portrait without too much distortion.

Leave a Reply

